Record WT-0001 ยท Last verified September 2026
SpringWell Whole House Water Filter System (CF1 / CF4 / CF+)
Whole-house filter (city water) by SpringWell. No system-level certification found at NSF, IAPMO, WQA or CSA.

We may earn a commission. It never changes a grade.
Scorecard
| Measure | Grade | Basis |
|---|---|---|
| Certification evidence | D | Maker claims only, no certification or published lab data |
| 10-year cost | A | $2,814 over 10 years |
| Flow rate | B | 9 gpm rated flow |
| Warranty | A | Lifetime on main parts |
| Returns | B | 180 days, 10% restocking fee |
What it treats
"Certified" means an independent body (NSF, IAPMO, WQA or CSA) lists this system for that contaminant. "Lab tested" means the maker published a third-party lab report. "Maker claim" means neither.
| Contaminant | Evidence | |
|---|---|---|
| Chlorine | Maker claim | Other systems for Chlorine |
| Chloramine | Maker claim | Other systems for Chloramine |
| PFAS | Maker claim | Other systems for PFAS |
| Sediment | Maker claim | Other systems for Sediment |
No claim made for: Lead, Iron, Manganese, Hydrogen sulfide, Hardness, Bacteria, VOCs, Arsenic, Nitrate, Fluoride, Copper, Uranium.
PFAS evidence: Product page: 'Removes chlorine, chloramine, PFAS, PFOA and PFOS from city water using KDF, catalytic carbon and sediment filtration'. No certification, standard or test report cited on the current site; not certified to NSF/ANSI 53 or P473 (no SpringWell listing at NSF, IAPMO or WQA).
Certifications
| Standard | Covers | Scope | Certified by |
|---|---|---|---|
| not specified | About page says 'certified components'; blog says 'certified kdf media'. No standard or certifier named on current product page. No finished-system listing for SpringWell (or 'spring well', 'Wise Water Solutions') at NSF (info.nsf.org DWTU), IAPMO R&T (pld.iapmo.org listee/brand/model search) or WQA (find.wqa.org), checked 2026-09-27. | components | maker claim only (no listing found) |
Specifications
| Type | Whole-house filter (city water) |
|---|---|
| Technology | KDF media, Catalytic carbon, Sediment filtration |
| Water source | City water |
| Price | $1,160 to $2,142 |
| Rated flow | 9 gallons per minute |
| Sized for | 1-3 bathrooms |
| Capacity | 1,000,000 gallons or 10 years (carbon media) |
| Media | KDF (copper-zinc alloy), catalytic coconut shell carbon, 5-micron sediment filter (post-tank) |
| Stages | 3 |
| Port size | 1 inch |
| Needs a drain | No |
| Needs power | No |
| DIY install | Yes, with basic plumbing skills |
| Dimensions | carbon tank 9 x 48 in (52 in with head); sediment housing separate; overall footprint not stated |
| Weight | 72 lb |
| Warranty | Lifetime (registered original owner, original install location) on fittings, tanks, housings, bypasses, valves, in/out heads and FutureSoft media; 10 years on retention and mineral tanks 14 inch or larger; 5 years on solid-state electronic heads. Warranty page also has a 'Guarantee of Performance': carbon keeps chlorine/chloramine below detection for 6 years or 1 million gallons. The standalone warranty page (springwellwater.com/warranty, modified 2026-08-14) now gives 7 years on solid-state electronic heads. |
| Returns | Site badge: '6-month money-back guarantee'. Fine print: returns within 6 months only if unused and uninstalled, customer pays return shipping, 10% restocking fee; installed systems are not returnable unless SpringWell deems them defective (the '6-month Performance Promise' offers troubleshooting/parts instead of refunds). |
10-year cost
| Item | Each | Times in 10 years | Cost |
|---|---|---|---|
| System purchase | $1,160 | 1 | $1,160 |
| Installation (assumed, professional) | $500 | 1 | $500 |
| 5-micron 10-inch sediment filter, 2-pack (sold only in packs; 4-pack $72.53) | $42 | 19 | $802 |
| Carbon replacement media, CF1 tank size (KDF + catalytic carbon) | $352 | 1 | $352 |
| Total | $2,814 |
Install assumption: $500 for whole-house systems, $150 for under-sink units. Installing it yourself brings the total to $2,314. Try your own numbers in the 10-year cost calculator.
Owner reports
On-site (Yotpo) 1-2 star reviews repeatedly report carbon fines or black particles reaching fixtures and clogging the sediment filter despite the 48-hour soak, multi-week shipping delays with unanswered customer service in 2026, and trouble finding plumbers willing to install it; several also cite pressure loss and the 10% restocking fee plus return shipping on unused returns.
Trustpilot: 2.9 from 2 reviews (source).
'CF+' is the 7+ bathroom, 20 GPM size of this filter, not a filter + softener combo (the FutureSoft combo is the CSF line). Site-wide banner 'New site, same Springwell - 15% Off All Systems'; prices shown are the sale prices, struck-through MSRP is 15% higher. MSRP: CF1 $1,365, CF4 $1,522.50, CF+ $2,520. annualCostUsd = maker FAQ sediment figure ($34.95) + CF1 media $351.70 over 10 years; at the current 10-inch 2-pack price it is about $77. Media life inconsistency: site says 10 years, the linked 2020 manual and the warranty performance guarantee say 6 years or 1M gallons. Product page shows 4.7 from 1,587 reviews (site's own). HSA/FSA via TrueMed. Cheaper alternative sold alongside: Whole House Cartridge System from $667.57. Trustpilot profile for springwellwater.com is unclaimed and displayed under the name 'Wise Water Solutions LLC' (Port Orange), 2 reviews.
Where we cover it
- Best picks: The best salt free water softeners
- Best picks: The best whole house water filters for city water
- Best picks: The best whole house water filters for PFAS
- Best picks: The best whole house water filters
- Review: SpringWell CF1 review
- Comparison: iSpring vs SpringWell
- Comparison: SpringWell vs Aquasana
- Comparison: SpringWell vs US Water Systems
- Comparison: Whole house water filter vs reverse osmosis
Alternatives in the same category
| System | Grade | Price | 10-yr cost | Certified to |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Aquasana Rhino WH-1000 (Max Flow WH-1010) | B | $999 | $6,924 | None |
| Aquasana Rhino Chloramines WH-1011 (Max Flow WH-1021) | B | $1,399 | $7,324 | None |
| Kind Water Systems S-500 | C | $1,471 | $3,359 | None |
| Aquasana HealthShield WH-HS | C | $2,099 | $15,209 | NSF/ANSI 53, NSF/ANSI 401, CSA B483.1 |
| SpringWell CSF1 | C | $2,321 | $3,974 | None |
Sources
- springwellwater.com/product/water-filters/whole-house-water-filters/
- springwellwater.com/wp-json/wc/store/v1/products/316
- springwellwater.com/wp-json/wc/store/v1/products/317
- springwellwater.com/wp-json/wc/store/v1/products/595
- springwellwater.com/wp-json/wc/store/v1/products/973
- springwellwater.com/wp-json/wc/store/v1/products/79653
- springwellwater.com/wp-content/uploads/2020/07/CF1_CF4-Installation-Instructions.pdf
- springwellwater.com/product/dual-systems/water-filter-salt-free-conditioner/
- springwellwater.com/about/
- springwellwater.com/whole-house-carbon-filter-vs-cartridge-filter-compared/
- info.nsf.org/Certified/DWTU/Listings.asp?CompanyName=springwell
- pld.iapmo.org/
- find.wqa.org/find-products
- trustpilot.com/review/springwellwater.com
- springwellwater.com/wp-json/wc/store/v1/products/284
- springwellwater.com/wp-json/wc/store/v1/products/966
- springwellwater.com/wp-json/wc/store/v1/products/872
- springwellwater.com/wp-json/wc/store/v1/products/79654
- api-cdn.yotpo.com/v1/widget/GJ1DQb4Cdu33B0xhynUliAt9HrpdutnCdyxb5DVP/products/284/reviews.
- springwellwater.com/warranty/
- springwellwater.com/wp-json/wp/v2/pages/394
- springwellwater.com/shipping/
- springwellwater.com/wp-json/wp/v2/pages/748
- bbb.org/us/fl/daytona-beach/profile/water-purification-equipment/springwell-water-filtrati
- bbb.org/us/fl/daytona-beach/profile/water-purification-equipment/springwell-water-filtrati
- bbb.org/us/fl/daytona-beach/profile/water-purification-equipment/springwell-water-filtrati