Skip to content
Well & TapHome Water Treatment Database

Record WT-0015 ยท Last verified September 2026

US Water Systems Pioneer Whole-House Lead, Cyst & PFOA/PFOS Removal System

Whole-house cartridge system by US Water Systems. Certified to NSF/ANSI 53 (lead, cyst, PFOA/PFOS), NSF P473 (PFOA, PFOS), CSA B483.1.

US Water Systems Pioneer Whole-House Lead, Cyst & PFOA/PFOS Removal System
C
Overall gradeWeighted from five measures. How grades work
$1,669starting price, larger sizes cost more
Estimated 10-year cost$2,169
Check price at US Water Systems Compare with similar systems

We may earn a commission. It never changes a grade.

Scorecard

Measure Grade Basis
Certification evidence A System certified: NSF/ANSI 53 (lead, cyst, PFOA/PFOS) (IAPMO), NSF P473 (PFOA, PFOS) (IAPMO), CSA B483.1 (IAPMO)
10-year cost A $2,169 over 10 years
Flow rate F 4.51 gpm rated flow
Warranty F 1 years on main parts
Returns D 30 days, 40% restocking fee

What it treats

"Certified" means an independent body (NSF, IAPMO, WQA or CSA) lists this system for that contaminant. "Lab tested" means the maker published a third-party lab report. "Maker claim" means neither.

No claim made for: Iron, Manganese, Hydrogen sulfide, Hardness, Bacteria, Sediment, VOCs, Arsenic, Nitrate, Fluoride, Copper, Uranium.

PFAS evidence: Maker: 'This system has been tested and third-party certified as required in the NSF/ANSI P473 standard for PFOA/PFOS, along with NSF/ANSI 53 standard for the reduction of lead and cyst.' Verified: the Enpress-made Pioneer system is IAPMO certified to NSF/ANSI 53 and P473 for PFOA/PFOS at 100,000 gallons. Caveat: certification covers only PFOA and PFOS at the 70 ppt P473 level, not other PFAS; the product page implies testing to the EPA 4 ppt MCL, which the IAPMO listing does not state.

Certifications

Standard Covers Scope Certified by
NSF/ANSI 53 (lead, cyst, PFOA/PFOS) cyst, lead, PFOA, PFOS system IAPMO
NSF P473 (PFOA, PFOS) PFOA, PFOS system IAPMO
CSA B483.1 cyst, lead, PFOA/PFOS (reduction claims as printed on the W-11203 listing) system IAPMO
NSF/ANSI 44 and 61 (materials and structural) Enpress pressure vessel only, per spec sheet components NSF

What each standard means

Specifications

Type Whole-house cartridge system
Technology Activated carbon
Water source City water, Private well
Price $1,669 to $2,364
Rated flow 4.51 gallons per minute
Capacity 100,000 gallons @ 4.51 GPM (99.62% lead reduction, 97.9% PFOA/PFOS reduction); peak flow 8 GPM; chlorine capacity >300,000 gallons @ 15 GPM, chloramine >150,000 gallons @ 8 GPM (chlorine/chloramine claims not performance tested by IAPMO or NSF)
Media 0.5 micron high capacity coconut shell carbon block (Pioneer CT-05-CB-AMCYL)
Stages 1
Port size 1 inch
Needs a drain No
Needs power Yes
DIY install Yes, with basic plumbing skills
Dimensions vessel 8 x 40 in; overall height not stated (manual: allow 3 ft clearance above for cartridge changes)
Weight 50 lb
Warranty Per Enpress manual: 1 year on the E3-M system and 30 days on the Pioneer filter (US Water Systems product page does not state its own warranty)
Returns One-year money back guarantee (applies to systems specified by their water specialists, typically after a lab water test); unopened US Water brand residential items returnable within 60 days (Pioneer is an Enpress-branded product, and the policy gives non-US Water brand items 30 days), restocking fee up to 40% may apply

10-year cost

Item Each Times in 10 years Cost
System purchase $1,669 1 $1,669
Installation (assumed, professional) $500 1 $500
Total $2,169

Not included because the maker does not sell or price them separately: 3 AAA batteries for meter backup (not sold by US Water). The real 10-year cost will be higher.

Install assumption: $500 for whole-house systems, $150 for under-sink units. Installing it yourself brings the total to $1,669. Try your own numbers in the 10-year cost calculator.

Owner reports

No recurring product-level complaints (only 5 on-site Yotpo reviews). Brand-level Trustpilot (4.1 from 1,034 reviews) 1-2 star reviews repeatedly cite shipping delays despite next-day shipping claims, slow refunds and restocking fees, and slow customer service.

Trustpilot: 4.1 from 1034 reviews (source).

This is a rebadged Enpress LLC product (Eastlake, Ohio); the certification belongs to Enpress. The product page contains copy errors: 'System Includes: Bodyguard Tank, Greenwave Tank' and 'perfluorobutane sulfonate (PFOS)' (PFOS is perfluorooctane sulfonate). Compare-at $2,781.87 (no pre-treat) shown struck through. The only US Water Systems whole-house product with a verified PFAS system certification. SpringWell sells the same Enpress Pioneer unit as its Lead & Cyst Removal System (see springwell-lcr1).

Where we cover it

Alternatives in the same category

System Grade Price 10-yr cost Certified to
Aqua-Pure (formerly 3M Aqua-Pure, Solventum) AP904 B $432 $3,742 NSF/ANSI 42
Home Master HMF3SdgFeC B $550 $2,633 None
Pentair FloPlus Protect 20BB (150736) B $325 $2,343 NSF/ANSI 53
SpringWell LCR-1 B $1,554 $5,869 NSF/ANSI 53
Culligan WH-HD200-C C $74 $2,801 None

Sources

  1. uswatersystems.com/products/pioneer-whole-house-lead-cyst-pfoa-pfos-removal-system.json
  2. uswatersystems.com/products/pioneer-whole-house-lead-cyst-pfoa-pfos-removal-system
  3. usws-pdfs.s3.us-east-2.amazonaws.com/media/pdf/PioneerSpecifications.pdf
  4. usws-pdfs.s3.us-east-2.amazonaws.com/media/pdf/PioneerManual.pdf
  5. uswatersystems.com/products/pioneer-lead-cyst-pfoa-pfos-removal-filter-cartridge.json
  6. enpress.com/site/project/pioneer-filtration/
  7. pld.iapmo.org/file_info.asp?file_no=0009981
  8. pld.iapmo.org/file_info.asp?file_no=0011467
  9. pld.iapmo.org/file_info.asp?file_no=0011203
  10. uswatersystems.com/pages/guarantee-1
  11. uswatersystems.com/pages/return-policy
  12. usws-pdfs.s3.us-east-2.amazonaws.com/media/pdf/PioneerPFOAPFOSSheet.pdf
  13. mirobase.iapmo.org/pld/file_info.asp?file_no=0009981
  14. mirobase.iapmo.org/pld/file_info.asp?file_no=0011467
  15. mirobase.iapmo.org/pld/file_info.asp?file_no=0011203
  16. info.nsf.org/Certified/DWTU/Listings.asp?CompanyName=Enpress&TradeName=&Standard=&ProductT
  17. api-cdn.yotpo.com/v1/widget/iuykqMgEBqXCzCLMbFMuX2YFuyLLjm1xtK6AT7BV/products/833630899435
  18. trustpilot.com/review/uswatersystems.com?stars=1&stars=2
US Water Systems Pioneer (Enpress CTA0840BBBKP5-04C00) $1,669 Check price